Tfos Conference Awards

TFOS congratulates the following individuals for winning the TFOS Travel Awards for the Taormina 2013 Conference:


Shruti Aggarwal (USA)
Terry Coursey (USA)
Juan Ding (USA)
Giulio Ferrari (Italy)
Jing Hua (USA)
Kyu-Yeon Hwang (Korea)
Wendy Kam (USA)
Sang-Mok Lee (USA)
Zhen Meng (USA)
Geraint Parfitt (USA)
Rose Reins (USA)

These awards are given to postdoctoral fellows, graduate students or young investigators (35 years or younger) who demonstrate significant scientific achievements in the field of tear film and ocular surface research. The amount of the Award is $1,500 (USD; European applicants) or $2,000 (USD; non-European applicants). The Award is accompanied by a waiver of registration and banquet fees, and a complimentary TFOS Membership. Award winners must be present at the Conference in order to receive this grant.

TFOS also expresses its appreciation to the TFOS Young Investigator Committee Members (listed below), who considered the hypothesis, experimental design, creativity, innovation, scientific results and significance of each abstract in making their evaluations. All of these Members are previous winners of TFOS Travel Awards.


Monica Alves, MD, PhD (Brazil)
Mindy K. Call, PhD (USA)
Cintia S. De Paiva, MD (USA)
Ana Isabel Guzman-Aranguez, PhD (Spain)
Osama Ibrahim, MD (Japan)
Georgios Kontadakis, MD, MSc (Crete, Greece)
Kaevalin Lekhanont, MD (Thailand)
Flavio Mantelli, MD, PhD (Italy)
Maria Markoulli, MOptom (Australia)
Rachel L. Redfern Rump, OD, PhD (USA)
Stefan Schrader, MD (Germany)
Benjamin D. Sullivan, MS, PhD (USA)
Louis H.T. Tong, MBBS, FRCS, DM, PhD (Singapore)
Tais Hitomi Wakamatsu, MD (Brazil)





2010, 6th International Conference on the Tear Film & Ocular Surface: Basic Science and Clinical Relevance


Travel Awards

 Philipp Ackerman, Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg, Analyzation Of Long Term Cultured Lacrimal Galnd Stem Cells.

Danielle Augustin, UC Berkeley, Traversal Of Corneal Epithelial Cells By P. Aeruginosa: Bacterial Adaptation Reveals Genes That Contribute To The Process

Colin Cerretani, UC Berkeley, Tear Evaporation Reduction By Model Thin Oily Films

 Laura Contreras Ruiz, Campus Miguel Delibes IOBA, Inflammatory Conditions Affect Tight Junction Proteins In Corneal Epithelial Cells

Julia Dieckow, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, Martin Luther Uni versity, Halle-Wittenberg, Halle, Germany

Thomas Fuschluger, SERI, Gene Therapy To Modulate Apoptosis And To Protect Endothelial Cells Against Death During Storage

Fabian Garreis, Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen-Nurnberg, Temperatur-Sensing By The Human Conjunctival Epithelium Through Activation Of Transient Receptor Potential Vanilloid (Trpv) Channels

Anna Guzman-Araguez, SERI/Complutense, Cell Surface Mucin O-Glycans Impair Nanoparticle Delivery To Cornealepithelial Cells

Maria Markoulli, Brien Holden Vision Institute, The Effect Of Contact Lens Wear On The Diurnal Profile Of Matrix Metalloproteinase-9 And Its Inhibitor In The Tear Film.

Maryam Mokhtarzadeh, Jules Stein UCLA , Tear Fluid Regulation Of Gene Expression In Corneal Epithelial Cells.

James Mun, UC Berkeley, Tear Fluid Regulation Of Gene Expression In Corneal Epithelial Cells.

Kyung-Sun Na, The Catholic University of Korea, A Genetic Association Of Il 6 And Il 6r Genes In Korean Dry Eye Patients

Jose Ricardo, Federal University of São Paulo, Transplantation Of Conjunctival Epithelial Cells Cultivated Ex Vivo In Patients With Total Limbal Stem Cell Deficiency

Stefan Schrader, UCL Institute of Ophthalmology, Development Of A Serum Free And Xenobiotic Free Surrogate Culture System For Human Limbal Epithelial Stem Cell Therapy.

Yuichi Uchino, Keio University School of Medicine, A New Mouse Model Of Dry Eye Disease (Tet-Mev-1 Mice) : Oxidative Stress Affect Functional Decline In Lacrimal Gland.

Eric Xiaojia Wei, Brien Holden Vision Institute UNSW, The Proteins And Their Interactions In Human And Rabbit Tears: Implication On Tear Film Stability





2007, 5th International Conference on the Tear Film & Ocular Surface: Basic Science and Clinical Relevance, September 5-8, Taormina, Italy


Amanda Ackerman, UC Berkeley School of Optometry, Berkeley, CA. Corneal Epithelial Cell Killing Of Internalized Bacteria.

Jeffrey Bair, Schepens Eye Research Institute, Boston, MA. Effect Of Protein Kinase Ca And P42/P44 Mapk On Egf-Stimulated Rat Cultured Conjunctival Goblet Cell Proliferation.

Linda Banbury, University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia. Steroid Hormones in the Tear Film.

Lilian Chiang, University of Southern California, School of Pharmacy. The Role Of Rab27b In The Regulation Of Intracellular Trafficking In The Lacrimal Gland.

Fabian Garreis, Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg, Halle, Germany. Ocular Surface Expression And Regulation Of b-Defensins.

Kari Green-Church, Ohio State University, Columbus OH. The Human Tear Film Proteome And Its Potential Application To Disease Biomarker Discovery.

Vinodh Kakkassery, University Eye Clinic, Essen, Germany; Schepens Eye Research Institute, Boston, MA. Membrane-Associated Mucins Are Affected By Inflammatory Mediators On Ocular Surface Epithelial Cells.

Flavio Mantelli, Schepens Eye Research Institute, Boston, MA. Inhibition Of Galectin-3 Association With Cell Surface O-Glycans Results In Corneal Epithelial Barrier Dysfunction.

Cuong Nguyen, University of Florida, College of Dentistry, Gainesville, FL. Th27 CELLS IN EXOCRINE GLAND TISSUES OF AN ANIMAL MODEL FOR SJÖGREN'S SYNDROME (Sjs)

Rachel Redfern, University of Houston, College of Optometry, Houston, TX. Toll-Like Receptor Expression And Dry Eye.

Shivaram Selvam, USC Doheny Eye Institute, Los Angeles, CA. Ion Fluxes Across Rabbit Acinar Cell Monolayers On Polyester Membrane Scaffolds.

Philipp Steven, University of Luebeck, Luebeck, Germany. Intravital Real-Time Imaging Of Conjunctiva-Associated Lymphoid Tissue.

Padmaja Thomas, USC Doheny Eye Institute, Los Angeles, CA. Autoimmune Dacryoadenitis Induced By Auto-Adoptive Transfer Of Cd4+ T Cells.

Tais Wakamatsu, Keio University School of Medicine, Keio, Japan. Histopathological Alterations In Senescent Cu, Zn-Superoxide Dismutase-1 (Sod-1)-Knock-Out Mice: A New Model For Dry Eye.

Ai Yamada, Schepens Eye Research Institute, Boston, MA. The Proinflammatory Response Of Human Corneal Epithelial Cells To Toxigenic Staphylococcus Aureus.



About Tfos

TFOS is a world leader in eye health education. The purpose of this Society is to advance the research, literacy, and educational aspects of the scientific field of the tear film and ocular surface, Organize and coordinate international conferences, meetings, workshops ...

Sign up for free!

Sign up & receive information on events, networking nights, reports and more!

TFOS' main objective is to educate & disseminate information widely. We want everyone to be able to access and share TFOS knowledge, for free.

Think Blink Campaign

Did you know that blinking can be helpful for your vision? Dry Eye Awareness gets a much needed boost with the launch of a social global campaign dubbed Think Blink.

Corporate Advisory Board Members

Vistakon TearLab Sifi Santen Bausch & Lomb Allergan